Garam Masala Salmon

Last night was my second attempt at making salmon in a college apartment. The first time turned out really well considering it was my Sriracha Salmon which is always a crowd pleaser. However, I was a bit nervous that this salmon wouldn’t be overly flavorful or that it would be dry, but good news! It tasted great and wasn’t too dry.

I ended up preparing this salmon as a dish to get me through the week…along with 4 servings of rice, eggplant salad, and sauteed spinach. And (as a college student), I miraculously got them all to fit in a single Tupperware container.

The original recipe can be found here.

I did tweak the original recipe, so excuse the lack of measurements (because at this point, I think we all know I don’t believe in measuring spices). If you aren’t comfortable eye-balling, go by the original recipe! It’s all up to you.

20160925_17524120160925_182317

Tips:

  • Let the salmon marinate in the spice mixture for at least 30 minutes. I didn’t but I think it might make a nice flavorful tweak.
  • Avocado anything would be delicious with this dish.
  • Or rice, or coconut rice…ooh ideas, for next time!

Ingredients:

  • Salmon
  • Turmeric
  • Garam Masala
  • Garlic powder
  • Salt
  • Pepper
  • And a dash of lemon juice

Instructions:

You can opt to either mix all the spices (WITHOUT THE LEMON JUICE) and then spread/rub the mixture into/onto the salmon or you can dash all the spices onto the salmon and then add the lemon juice. In any event, the lemon juice goes on last. Bake at 450 degrees Fahrenheit for 15 minutes or until the salmon flakes with a fork.

Leave a comment