Tomato, Basil, and Chickpea Salad

So, last night I got to eat a wonderful pre-Yom Kippur meal with two of my good friends. One of my friends did the main course cooking (an amazing lemon/olive chicken dish, couscous, and challah) while I contributed my favorite eggplant salad (minus the cheese of course) and this salad.

I was skeptical at first about how the ingredients would all work out but, let me tell you, it was the perfect compliment to my friend’s Moroccan cooking.

Skill Level: If you can cut veggies with a knife, you can make this salad.

The salad was yet another Pinterest find and the original recipe can be found here.

Tips:

  • If any of these veggies are your favorite, make sure to add more!
  • If you can’t find fresh basil at the store (like me), squeezable basil (which sounds super unappealing) or dried basil will also work.
  • You can also add in 1 small chopped white onion but I left it out ’cause onions aren’t really my thing…except for scallions
  • The original recipe also calls for nigella seeds but I don’t own those

Ingredients:

  • 1 can of chickpeas
  • Sesame seeds (as many or as few as you want)
  • 1/2 cup of chopped cilantro
  • 10 basil leaves (or basil in whatever form you can find)
  • 1 tablespoon of sesame OR olive oil
  • 2-3 chopped scallions
  • 1 teaspoon of balsamic vinegar
  • 2 big tomatoes
  • 1 carrot
  • Salt to taste

Instructions:

Combine all vegetables and sesame seeds in bowl. Toss with balsamic vinegar and oil.20161011_165350.jpg

 

Leave a Reply

