Toasted Pumpkin Seeds

Today…I went to a pumpkin patch! One of my roommates found a Groupon that gave us a huge discount on a hayride and pumpkin picking at a local farm. Additionally, I got to go through my first ever corn maze and I had an amazing time.

All four of us came back to our apartment and set out to carve and paint our pumpkins. Mine was a huge failure. So rather than show you this year’s pumpkin, I’ll show you last year’s: IMG_20151017_211952.jpg

I wasn’t that upset by my failure though! Probably because my main goal of the pumpkin picking was to do something cool with what’s inside…’cause I’ve never cooked with a full-fledged gourd before, so now’s the time to try.

So here I bring you, my own version of toasted pumpkin seeds. [Stay tuned later, I might have epically failed at making pumpkin bisque, but I’ll let you know! UPDATE: I epically failed at making pumpkin bisque…]

20161030_16000620161030_140244.jpg

Skill Level: It basically cooks itself.

Ingredients:

  • A pinch of turmeric
  • A pinch of paprika
  • A pinch of garlic powder
  • A sprinkle of salt

Instructions:

  1. Rinse off the pumpkin seeds you plucked from the inside of your pumpkin.
  2. On the stove, use a skillet or pan. Spread them out and sprinkle all the spices over them.
  3. Toast until the seeds are slightly browned.
Leave a Reply

