Cabbage Steaks

Listen up veggie lovers! Contrary to [not so] popular belief, this recipe has nothing to do with beef or any other kind of meat.

Actually, I had no idea why this recipe sounded so appealing when I first found it on Pinterest a while back, but I knew I had to try it and it was so popular with my family that this was my second time making it.

A couple things were different between my first trial and my second, I’ll point out the differences along the way! The original recipe can be found here.

Skill Level: Basic

Ingredients:

1 head of cabbage

1.5 tablespoons of olive oil (or olive oil cooking spray)

2 or 3 garlic cloves (or if necessary, garlic powder)

Salt

Black Pepper

Tips:

  • Garlic cloves are ideal, but this ingredient somehow missed out on being added to my grocery list so I used garlic powder instead.
  • If you’re interested in an abundance of flavor, you can substitute or add other spices. This time I accidentally used onion powder instead of garlic powder and mom threw on some zaatar too.
  • It’s so easy to burn the cabbage…it isn’t actually bad burnt (in my opinion).
  • The “steaks” are large for one person. My family enjoys picking them apart and eating the super crispy parts first.
  • I haven’t yet learned how to avoid getting the core in the steaks, so any tips or wisdom would be greatly appreciated. Otherwise, cut up your cabbage and avoid eating the core.

Instructions:

  1. Preheat your oven to 400°F and cover a baking sheeting with aluminum foil.
  2. Pull the outer leaves off the cabbage and make sure the cabbage is clean.
  3. Cut the cabbage into slices that are about an inch thick.August 07, 2015 at 0429PM
  4. Spread or spray the olive oil on both sides of the cabbage steaks. Sprinkle your chosen spices on both sides.August 07, 2015 at 0434PM
  5. Roast the “steaks” on the middle rack for half an hour. Then flip them over and roast them for another 20-30 minutes.August 07, 2015 at 0603PM
Leave a Reply

